Monday, May 8, 2006

En Route

Its about 10:00pm at home, which means that we left Indiana twelve hours ago. But I really have no concept of time right now. For instance, were over Siberia. My screen says its about noon here. Its 10am in Sang hi. This means nothing to me, really. (Which is why I decided to put this post as Siberia time). However, the screen does tell me that we will land in about five hours. My whole realm of existence relies on this screen on the back of my seat, right now. I am also sitting next to the window. So every once and a while I can make sure the wing is still attached to the plane because thats all I can see. I was really looking forward to getting a window seat because we flew over the north pole. It just seemed cool to see the north pole. I dunno why. But, all I can see is the wing of the plane. So the only evidence I have visiting the north pole is a picture I took of the screen on the back of my seat.

Last night I started packing around 8pm. I actually did an awesome job. I guess Im getting use to living out of a suitcase. The only thing I forgot to do was back up my computer. This isnt bad since I barley had time to pack. I guess I scheduled to much for this week because I thought I would be free after classes were over. This was untrue. I was busy up until Saturday attending graduation parties and such. It was fun, nonetheless, but it didnt give me anytime to do anything. At midnight last night I was ready for bed when Mel finally called and told me to come to another graduation party. I was demanded to go. I only stayed at the party for a little bit, and I almost slept through my alarm at 4am the next morning.

I ate breakfast with mom, dad, and Madelyn which was really fun. Then we got the airport and hung out until I felt the need to go through security. This security check was flawless, unlike the only other time I flew internationally from the states. The last time I had to get into a line with two other Arabs so they could pat me down and thoroughly check all my luggage. I feel a lot safer due to racial profiling at the airports. However, that line was a lot shorter then the other security line, so I got through a lot faster.

Anyway, that has nothing to do with this trip. I made it through security and we boarded the plan pretty fast. Our layover in Chicago was two hours, but nothing compared to my three hour lay over a week ago when I was coming back from Austin. (In addition, two flights left for Indy before our flight. It sucked). Anyway, Im telling a lot of past stories. This only confirms that this trip isnt bad so far. The only weird thing was while we were waiting at OHare. Some guy was picking popcorn off the floor and eating it. Then he was digging through the trash can for something I dunno what. I didnt expect to see homeless people at the airport. It totally seemed like this was the case. But I think he got on our plane to Shanghi.

This particular flight has been about nine hours so far. I watched this one show with Queen Latisha, where she is about to die so she blows all her money. The story ends happily, I guess. Like, she finds out shes NOT going to die. (Did I just ruin the movie for you? I feel bad). Anyway, I didnt really see this as a good thing. In my figures, she spent up $100,000 including her life savings. Now shes not going to die. What is she planning on doing? She has no job or money. But I guess she hooked up with this guy. So thats cool. He wanted to marry the chick when he thought she was dying. Im all about true love, but you need to think financially for just a little bit. I want to marry someone who is dying in a week and has $100,000 in debt. It just doesnt seem right.

Anyway, when we land in Shanghi it will be 3pm on Monday or 3am Monday morning inIndiana. This works well with my new sleeping pattern I was thinking about trying.

No comments:

Post a Comment