Tuesday, October 31, 2006

The South

My update on the south is lacking… I failed.

My parents visited this weekend with all my stuff. So basically I have some place to sit and sleep now. So that's awesome.

My apartment is on the near-north side of downtown Baton Rouge. This basically means there is nothing close to me. I occasionally wonder into the downtown at night. It's cool because no one else is there and I feel safe. There are a few bars that seem to be open. No coffee shops are open past 7:00. In fact, there is a lot downtown. But nothing is open after 7:00. This amazes me. TONS of people work downtown. The entire state government is employed downtown; along with city/parish, bankers, etc. But everyone leaves at night. Thus, I am by myself when I walk around. There's a nice fountain that is always flowing. But I'm scared to sit by it because there is always a cop near by. Apparently this cop feels the need to watch no-one in downtown.

I walk back to my apartment and travel ten miles to Target (still refuse to go to Wal-Mart). I am slowly gaining knowledge of local places to shop. In fact, there is an (awesome) local grocery/convenience store/restaurant, a few blocks from my apartment. So I go there sometimes. But really, it's the only thing near me that is convenient.

I actually like my apartment. It kind of feels like the projects, due to the construction. But there are a lot of young people who live here, and a lot of different varieties of people. So it's cool. I've talked to a few people. My neighbor was kind enough to awake me at 3:00am the second night I was here. He let me know my keys were in the door. I don't quite remember what he looks like because I didn't have my glasses, and the conversation was scarce. "Hey, whats up?", "You're keys?", "Oh shit! Thanks!", "Night." I went and thanked him the next morning. But he was at work and his friend was there. I said thanks.

I also have talked to another guy. He was struggling with trash on the elevator. I saw him lug two garbage bags out of the elevator, and he dropped two boxes. I thought I would help out, so I went over and got the boxes – two 24 packs of BudLight reeking of beer. I walked over to the dumpster as he was dumping his two bags of beer bottles in the dumpster. He told me he loved beer. His diet consist of beer, he explained.

Actually, these people are very normal – either college kids or young professionals. So it's cool.

Tomorrow is Halloween in the office. I guess we carve pumpkins in the morning, then we have a carry in that afternoon. I guess that will be fun. The advance planners were having a secret meeting today figuring out a design for the pumpkins. It's a contest. So we had to close the door. I bet we win. Cause we're basically the coolest people.

Speaking of my job: it's cool. I have worked for three government entities. All three lacked in lots of work. I am actually busy ALL day in Baton Rouge.

Remember MCCOG? That was a sweet internship. I miss it – and the five interns. Baton Rouge isn't like this internship.

Anyway, Mel is coming here for Madi Gras. So you probably should come with her.

That "Woo-Hoo" song by Blur has come on twice tonight (aka Song 2, because it's the second track?). Which is weird, because its kinda annoying. Blur's cool – well, interesting. Speaking of British people, I'm moving to England soon. I don't know how, I don't know when, but I am.

Another song that brought back memories (not like Blue did), but Danco Jones came on. Remember good 'ol Danco? I do.

I should go to bed. Lemme finish my beer….

No comments:

Post a Comment