Tuesday, December 26, 2006

trip home - installment one

It's Christmas.  So I flew home for the break.

What's a flight without a good story?  Impossiable (for me at least). 

I was using my vocher to fly home, which means that I had to fly out of New Orleanssince United doesn't fly out of Baton Rouge.  My flight was at noon, but my co-worker was catching the Atlanta train at 7:30 so I offered to drop her off.

I was rather proud of myself.  The night before I packed my bags and was the most prepared for this trip then any trip I have taken this year.  I packed the night before I left for China and Europe.  This was also the case for my trip to Boston, but I had a good excuse since I was in the hospital the day prior to boarding the plane.  So the fact that I had all my bags neatly packed and laid out on my futon by 11:00pm was amazing.

I went to bed, setting my alarm for 4am.

The next morning I pressed the snooze button twice, but I still had plenty of time to gain consciousness and take a shower before Lynn arrived.  When she called, I went to my car and we headed for New Orleans.  Before hand, I had to drop my key off at one of my neighbors so my coworker could get my key from him and feed my cat.

When we left Baton Rouge the only thing that made the morning unhappy was my lack of coffee. I mean, I had that feeling that I left something behind.  But when do you NOT have that feeling? 

We drove through the Lousiana swamps at 5:00am – entering New Orleans over the lake at 6:30, and arriving at the train station.  Everything was good.  It was one of those surreal mornings.  It felt good.  We found the train station easily and I helped Lynn upload her bags.  She was a girl, so she thought it necessary to bring back LOTS of presents. After we checked her bags, I wanted coffee.  So we went to the cafĂ© in the station. 

I reached for my wallet – the wallet that, not only contained all my money and credit cards, but also my only form of ID.  The ID that will allow me on the train.

My wallet wasn't there.  My mind flashed to the my wallet laying on my table at home.  My home in Baton Rouge – an hour away.  I quickly bid Lynn a farewell and began a race back home.  At this point I was OK.  It was 7am, my flight was noon, and Baton Rouge is only an hour away.  There were two glitches in the plan.  First, my car was on Empty and I had no money.  Second, my key was laying on my neighbors floor.  Hopefully he was home and awake so I could get my key, open my apartment gate, and unlock my door. 

Surprisingly, all these events took place smoothly.  I had enough gas to get back, my neighbor answered his door, and I was able to leaving Baton Rouge by 8:30.  I was a little concerned that the airport would be packed due to the holiday.  Even though, I should be OK.

I drove to my pastor-friends house, who would be taking me to the airport.  We left for the airport with an estimated arrival time of 11:00.  Flight was at 12:00.  We were good.

When we got to the airport, I realized I had left my cell phone in the car.  I debated if this was important. I couldn't decide.  But Pastor Nare was determined to retrieve the device. We flew back home and I arrived back at the airport at 11:20.  I was pretty sure I wasn't going to make the flight.  How is it possible to make a flight in 40 minutes, on the Saturday before Christmas.  There is no way.

I was at the terminal in ten minutes.  No kidding.  They weren't even boarding the plane yet.  I was relieved.  I guess the airport in now dead post-Katrina.  I'm lucky.  The flight was eventless and on-time.  I even flew through the deadly Washington-Dulles, where I received my initial voucher that was allowing me to fly home cheap.

United still sucks.  Upon boarding the plane, we were told that the seats were screwed up so we were to take any open seat available.  After deplaning my carry-on (that was checked plane-side) was ripped.  But I went to the luggage people and they said they would give me a $20 voucher.  So I actually GAINED from the flight.  Sweet.

My aunt picked me up and we went to Lafayette.  I was home.  I love this place.

Friday, December 22, 2006

stuff about the suburbs

A new version of Rockin the Suburbs... which is AWESOME (i have a blog following this about my thoughts)

Let me tell y'all what it's like 
Watching "Idol" on a friday night 
In a house built safe and sound 
On indian burial ground 
Sham On 

We drive our cars everyday 
To and from work both ways 
So we make just enough to pay 
To drive our cars to work each day 
Hey Hey 

We're rocking the suburbs 
Around the block just one more time 
We're rocking the suburbs 
Cause I can't tell which house is mine 
We're rocking the suburbs 
We part the shades and face the facts 
They got better looking Fescue 
Right across the cul de sac 

Hot real estate rising stars 
Get rich quick seminars 
Soap opera magazines 
40,000 watt nativity scenes 
Don't freak about the smoke alarm 
Mom left the TV dinner on 

We're rocking the suburbs 
From Donahues to Chevy Chase 
We're rocking the suburbs 
We numb the muscles in our face 
We're rocking the suburbs 
Feed the dog and mow the lawn 
Watching mommy balance the checks 
While daddy juggles credit cards 

(William shatner talking) 

We're rocking the suburbs 
Everything we need is here 
We're rocking the suburbs 
But it wasn't here last year 
We're rocking the suburbs 
You'll never know when we are gone 
Because the timer lights come on 
And turn the cricket noises on each night 
Yeah, yeah, we're rocking the suburbs 
Yeah, yeah, we're rocking the suburbs

followup to suburb stuff

So, Erin gave an awesome Christmas card because it included a CD of favorite tunes. Some from the past, and some I have never heard at the time.  So I put it in my car's CD player and made my venture out to the Louisiana Mall for some people watching (the best time of the year).

Before I rant, a disclaimer.  I am completely enjoying my time here in Baton Rouge.  I love it.  But these are my vents:

I HATE traveling within five miles of my apartment.  Especially after 5.  Considering the size of Baton Rouge, traffic is horriable.  Contrary to populat belief, heavey traffic is not a sign of prosperity.  It is instead a lack of urban-ness (if it occurs in a city the size ofBaton Rouge).  I mean, seriously, I commuted from Indy to Muncie, and traffic was not that bad.  Indianapolis is (technically) the 12th largest city in the USA.  Something is wrong here in Baton Rouge.

I won't even go into their driving habits.  That's another blog.

So anyway, I left at 4pm, which means I made it to the mall pretty fast because it was before people left work.  I arrived at the mall, and of course the place is packed.  The City of Baton Rouge has installed a five-lane bypass around the mall, complete with two interchanges to the interstate.  I have fought Christmas traffic before, and it was obvious (when I hadn't moved an inch on the five-lane, mall bypass) that I wasn't going to find a parking spot.  So I had to turn around.  It was this point I said to myself: this would not be a problem if this city was not completely reliant off the automobile.  Nor would it be a problem if this shopping were in an urban area where people could park on multiple streets of multiple parking lots that are dispersed throughout the area.  Seriosuly.  This seems obvious to most people – but it must not be.

So, you're saying: this is true all over the USA.  I digress.  However, its worse here. Take it from someone that has been to 48 states and most major cities.  I get irked when I am in a public meeting and I hear someone from the LSU Landscape Architecture department rant on about New Urbanism and this so-called 'new movement'.  Whenever someone says this I just want to relocate from Baton Rouge to – I dunno.  But it makes me mad.  Especially in a city like Baton Rouge.  There are all kinds of 'new urbanist' developments around Baton Rouge.  It is the thing to do.  The only place in Baton Rougewhere 'new urban' developments are not being built are  IN THE URBAN CORE!  Guess what's downtown right now?  Imagine Muncie.  That's what's there.  But don't worry.  I can drive to one of these 'new urban' developments and experience the urban environment.  Except they lack density, (real) multi-use, diversity, etc.  Oh wait: isn't that the what 'urban' means?  Huh, I guess I forgot about those qualities when I was too busy trying to keep my development homogenous in class and race.  That's weird.  I don't know how I forgot about that.  Maybe it was because I was busy sitting in my SUV, in traffic, on the interstate, flipping someone the bird because I can't drive correctly. 

There was actually an editorial in the paper saying that downtown 'just isn't the center of town anymore'.  The editorial went on to say: 'Sure, it's the center for culture attractions, the government, and the historical (transportation) center.  But it will never be the center of town anymore.  No one will ever use transit in this day'. 

Wait?  Didn't the writer just say downtown was the center for all those things?  Yet it will never be the center of town anymore.  It totally confused me. 

Oh, and FYI, the most progressive cities in the USA are investing in public transit because they got screwed by being homogenous. 

Sunday, December 17, 2006

fun

This weekend was entertaining.  Thursday night was a lengthy happy hour at the Red Star followed by a half day at work.  So I wasn't really compelled to go to bed early on Thursday night.  Friday was a half day because we had a Christmas party.  It began at noon and I wasn't able to leave until nine.  When I got home I walked over to a neighborhood party being held. 

I went to bed.

I slept LATE Saturday.  Probably the latest I have ever slept in my entire life.  (Excluding a lot of times that I have sleep later).  I wasn't in the mood to do anything.  So I finally got the motivation to put on some cloths and walk over to the grocery store for a box of cereal. On my way there I saw my neighbor, Jeff, and he took me on a tour of the state capital building.  (Please note, this is another Jeff and I am not referring to myself in third person).  It was quite an interesting tour.  But when it concluded I continued my trek to the store and got some cereal.  After eating a bowl or two (a bowl of cereal, not the actually bowl), I went shopping for essential supplies. 

The sad thing was the fact I ripped my side-view mirror off my car while backing out of my parking space.  I was – and still am- pissed.  I tried using super glue to get it back on. My dad told me to take it to the dealer.  Sucks. 

That night I went to some 80's party that a friend was holding.  It was fun.  I didn't get in until late. 

I should spend today getting things done.  So far that hasn't happened.

I did blog, though.

Sunday, December 10, 2006

another day or two. maybe three

I am sitting here eating macaroni and cheese left over's. I made it last night – which basically sums up my entire weekend. My Saturday night involved me making macaroni and cheese (after driving aimlessly around looking for a place to get my hair cut) afterwards I sat down to watch American Beauty. I haven't seen this film in a while, so I thought it would be a nice reminder on why suburbia sucks. The film more or less reinforces the importance of my job. I was going to enjoy my night in – until my DVD player stopped working. I was pissed. The one thing I wanted to do tonight was watch this movie, and now my DVD player stops working. Mind you, it has a right to stop working. I purchased this thing back in my Sophomore year of High School. It has endured countless moves from Lafayette to Muncie to Baton Rouge. I guess it can retire at this point. But the fact remains that I wanted to enjoy some macaroni and cheese and a beer. (Good combination, I know).

So I turned off the dysfunctional DVD player and turned my attention to TBS. Legally Blond was on earlier – which is a phenomenal movie – but now some sitcom about yuppies living on the north side of Chicago. Honestly, it was rather stupid, but I watched it anyway because it reminded me of home. I'm guessing all my friends on the north side of Chicago act this way.

Speaking of yuppies, I joined this organization for 'young professionals wanting to influence positive development in Baton Rouge'; aka, a bunch of yuppie-tools. I've met a few people in working relations that were a part of this organization. So I joined earlier and they had their Christmas party at the Baton Rouge Art Museum on Thursday. I showed up thinking I would see someone I know. However, I also showed up wanting to eat – I had skipped dinner. So I filled a plate, and then decided to get a glass of wine. Perfect meal! Except my hand were full and I could not eat. So I (discreetly) downed my glass of wine so I could eat. This progressed to drinking to much wine for the night.

After arriving some people approached me as a new member. We talked. After a while, my friend Jordan arrived and I had a permanent friend to talk too. I think having people to talk too require you NOT to talk to other people. So I didn't meet enough people that night, but at least I'm involved now. And it was fun. I probably shouldn't meet people when drinking a lot of wine. For those of you who know me, you know that I'm weird. Wine makes me weirder

Thursday night was the third night I went out. Tuesday night I had a lengthy night meeting and then went to the LSU bastketball game.

Rockin.

Wednesday night I went to the roof-top sushi bar downtown. It was nothing to write home about – but fun nonetheless.

I am flying home in a few weeks for Christmas. That will be fun. There better be snow or I will be pissed.

I also have some tentative visitors, which makes me excited. Andrea has promised to come. Karma and Jess might come for the last week of February. And I might have some visitors for Spring Break. I'm thrilled. I'm going to take them alligator wrestling on the bayous. That's what I typically do on the weekends.

Saturday, December 9, 2006

remembering school

following is an evaluation i gave to a teacher last year.  i still like to remember this evaluation.  the incrediably sad thing is: this is all true.
Plan 618:

Comment on the instructor teaching ability:
Teaching skills were lacking.  May times questions were disregarded and labeled as "stupid".  During these times, the instructor misunderstood the question.  He needs to work on better communication between the students and himself. 

What were the strengths of the course?
Instructor copied/stole most PowerPoint presentations and homework assignments off other websites.  This was very helpful because we were able to teach out selves the material.  This was necessary due to the lack of clarification in class.

Weakness of the course:
Teaching style is lacking - if not absent - from class.  The professor comes to class unprepared and often would ask us "What are we doing today?"

Past material used:
Instructor would criticize past material given to us on this subject.  I would advise that he works with Prof. Hill in order to strengthen his own material. 

Materials:
Most material presented in class was not useful.  The book did not provide much information along with his PowerPoint presentations.  Most my understanding would come from after-class Google searches in order to finish the assignments.

Audio-Visual:
PowerPoint presentations were not useful.  Much of the presentations he did not explain. He would show slides.  I would usually decipher them after class.


Plan 619:

Overall teaching:
Instructor was more prepared then 618.  However, this caused him not to explain the material even further.  He seems to believe that the material does not have to be explained in full due if he is knowledgeable of the subject.  Osmosis does not work in teaching.  

Strengths:
The material seems very interesting.  I personally can not wait to learn how to use the material that was supposed to be presented in class.

Weaknesses:
Many of the assignments were not explained in full.  He would give several equations with different variables and did not explain what they meant.  The only way we could finish our homework was to duplicate what he did on the board.  This was hard because I could rarely read his handwriting.  Furthermore, he could barley read his own handwriting.  This caused much confusion.  When he was confronted, he acted as if were dumb.

Past material:
Did not relate.  I am still not sure how to apply this knowledge.  It would have been useful if he would have given a list of equations in class, explained the variables, and then explained the function.  His organization in class was very difficult to follow.  Many different equations would be on the board.  However, we were only solving one problem at the time.  He seemed to confuse equations and lacked the understanding to apply them to the homework assignment.

Material:
One reading was given to us.  This reading, we were told, was an example of an unsuccessful model.  The instructor went on to explain he was much smarter then the author.  More reading material would be useful due to the lack of clear explanation.  My instruction would usually come from Google searches after class time.

Lectures:
Instructor needs to review his notes before coming to class.  Usually he could not read his notes and his math was wrong.  It is difficult to understand the material when the instructor does not understand the material.

Sunday, December 3, 2006

i got bored:

In the last year I have been to:

- Indianapolis, Lafayette, Muncie, Fort Wayne, Kokomo, Random Region cities, Chicago,Cincinnati, Columbus, Ann Arbor

- Wisconsin, Minnesota, North Dakota, Montana, Wyoming, Iowa

- Portland Oregon, Seattle, Vancouver

- San Antonio, Austin, Houston, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Florida

- San Francisco, Palo Alto, Sacramento

- Providence, Boston, Cap Cod

- Shanghai, Beijing, Wohan, Deyang

- Amsterdam, Berlin, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna, Prague, London, Oxford