I am sitting here eating macaroni and cheese left over's. I made it last night – which basically sums up my entire weekend. My Saturday night involved me making macaroni and cheese (after driving aimlessly around looking for a place to get my hair cut) afterwards I sat down to watch American Beauty. I haven't seen this film in a while, so I thought it would be a nice reminder on why suburbia sucks. The film more or less reinforces the importance of my job. I was going to enjoy my night in – until my DVD player stopped working. I was pissed. The one thing I wanted to do tonight was watch this movie, and now my DVD player stops working. Mind you, it has a right to stop working. I purchased this thing back in my Sophomore year of High School. It has endured countless moves from Lafayette to Muncie to Baton Rouge. I guess it can retire at this point. But the fact remains that I wanted to enjoy some macaroni and cheese and a beer. (Good combination, I know).
So I turned off the dysfunctional DVD player and turned my attention to TBS. Legally Blond was on earlier – which is a phenomenal movie – but now some sitcom about yuppies living on the north side of Chicago. Honestly, it was rather stupid, but I watched it anyway because it reminded me of home. I'm guessing all my friends on the north side of Chicago act this way.
Speaking of yuppies, I joined this organization for 'young professionals wanting to influence positive development in Baton Rouge'; aka, a bunch of yuppie-tools. I've met a few people in working relations that were a part of this organization. So I joined earlier and they had their Christmas party at the Baton Rouge Art Museum on Thursday. I showed up thinking I would see someone I know. However, I also showed up wanting to eat – I had skipped dinner. So I filled a plate, and then decided to get a glass of wine. Perfect meal! Except my hand were full and I could not eat. So I (discreetly) downed my glass of wine so I could eat. This progressed to drinking to much wine for the night.
After arriving some people approached me as a new member. We talked. After a while, my friend Jordan arrived and I had a permanent friend to talk too. I think having people to talk too require you NOT to talk to other people. So I didn't meet enough people that night, but at least I'm involved now. And it was fun. I probably shouldn't meet people when drinking a lot of wine. For those of you who know me, you know that I'm weird. Wine makes me weirder
Thursday night was the third night I went out. Tuesday night I had a lengthy night meeting and then went to the LSU bastketball game.
Rockin.
Wednesday night I went to the roof-top sushi bar downtown. It was nothing to write home about – but fun nonetheless.
I am flying home in a few weeks for Christmas. That will be fun. There better be snow or I will be pissed.
I also have some tentative visitors, which makes me excited. Andrea has promised to come. Karma and Jess might come for the last week of February. And I might have some visitors for Spring Break. I'm thrilled. I'm going to take them alligator wrestling on the bayous. That's what I typically do on the weekends.
No comments:
Post a Comment