Sunday, March 11, 2007

crawfish boil and the beginning of kickball season

I'm going to start this post by talking about Wheat Thins. I'm somewhat addicted to these things, and for that reason I don't buy boxes of Wheat Thins very often. Well, at the weekly grocery store outing I decided to get a box of Wheat Thins – Parmesan Basil to be exact. Now I am debating on eating the entire box tonight so I won't have the temptation of eating them later this week. I mean, once their gone their gone. I don't handle addictions very well. My philosophy is to get rid of the addiction and go cold turkey.

This weekend was supposed to be low-key. I spent Friday night in my apartment (well, I had my nighly walk which involved sitting on the State Capital Building steps contemplating life). I got up early Saturday so I could go to the Farmers Market to get some food. Just before I left for the Farmer's Market Keith and Kelcey called and wanted me to go to a crawfish boil. I've obviously eaten crawfish before; and Jordan had provided us with some crawfish a few nights ago. But this was going to be my first "real" boil.

The event took place at Keith and Kelcey's friends and they had a bag of crawfish. After playing with them for a while we threw them in the pot for some boil action. For those of you who don't know, the crawfish are huge down here. But even at that, they don't have much meat. So once you scope up a dish of crawfish you have to work hard just to get a little bit of meat. It takes a long time before you are satisfied – but the meat is amazing. Especially with the seasoning. You eat the tail, and then suck their head for the juice. I guess the professionals even get meat from their claws. I didn't do that.

So we left the boil and dropped Kelcey off at work. Keith and I went for some coffee to wear off some of the alcohol. Afterwards, we met his and Kelcey's mom at Sunami's (a bar at the top of a downtown building which overlooks the Mississippi). We met some friends and chilled there for a while. I noticed a party happening at the Ball Room over at the Hilton Hotel. At which point I began telling everyone that I was invited to go to the party. I thought it would be easier to crash the party if my friends were lead to believe they were actually suppose to be there. However, once the alcohol started wearing off, I didn't think it was a great idea. So I had to work myself out of that mess. But it worked out OK. We went to the Red Star instead. My friend Emanuel was there. It was fun.

Afterwards we went to the Wine Loft and Rasputin's. However, their clientele are elite and can't wear sandals. So I couldn't go in.

Today was another low-key (getting over an entire day of drinking) day. However, tonight was our kickball team's first practice. So I had to go to that. I haven't played kickball since 5th grade. So I needed to brush up. But I think once the season starts I will rock. Our team is pretty good too. Disciplined. Most were there on time. (Well, the ones that showed up). We even warmed up by running around the bases. There was a baseball team on the other diamond who was doing this, so we thought it was a good idea for us to do it also. We recruited someone to yell at us as we ran. Lemme tell you, that lap around the diamond wore us all out. We got a beer.

In other news I'm thinking about buying a condo. My friends are into all of this, so I think it might be a good idea. But I can't live downtown anymore. Which would suck. Bad. But… it might be OK.

I apologize for lack of updates. I'll be better. I will write about Mardi Gras later.

No comments:

Post a Comment