What I didn't realize was how bad traffic would be in Baton Rouge. I never have to commute out (fortunately), so I haven't noticed the many people that do commute. The amazing thing is that the traffic was a lot worse then I experienced on my commute from downtown Indianapolis to Muncie. This made me think – how is there so few people and so more traffic? The easy answer is that people work FAR away from their homes. Baton Rouge also lacks a central commercial district. Therefore, people are driving millions of directions to reach their homes. (Baton Rouge need a better public transit system. This would be easier given a central business district).
Anyway, I continued on through Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama. By the time I got to Alabama I was reaching fatigue. So I stopped by Dairy Queen to get a Moolate. Those are really good, and help you stay awake. So I stood at the counter for ten minutes waiting to be served. At which point I witnessed one of the workers dumb an entire bag of liquid ice cream all over the floor. The really funny part was how all the employees decided this functioned as a good ice skating rink. This just increased the mess. In fact, the worker (who finally took my order) said I could get my ice cream for free if I cleaned up the mess (she clarified that she was just joking). It didn't matter anyhow because their Moolate machine was broken. I was pissed, but moved on and got a peanut butter shake. It was good.
I continued into Florida and reached the given exit I was instructed to take. I assumed I was close to my destination at this point. I was wrong. I entered a deserted two-lane road and discovered the road was a toll-way. Interesting. I paid my three dollars and began a six mile drive across a two-lane causeway. I couldn't see a thing since it was dark. I just knew I was over water. I finally descended the causeway and found myself in a suburban area. I then began a thirty minute drive to Andrea's mom's condo. I didn't arrive until 10:30. We had some drinks and went to bed.
The next morning I discovered why Andrea liked to come here so often. It was pretty nice – the ocean, that is - except it was cold. So we went and ate at a restaurant where Andrea embarrassed us all by forcing her ID to the waiter like some nearly-turned 21 year old. The food was good; the view was great; and it was good. So we went back to the condo and later went out that night to another place. This was also fun. I found the perfect seating location that enabled us to be out of the wind and under the heaters. I drank a lot. But I think the appearance of me drinking a lot has to do with the fact I haven't drank much in the last month. My tolerance seems to lacking. Plus, I was having a good time this increase my drunkenness.
So then comes Sunday. This is what usually happens in the progression of days.
I woke up. That's always a good thing – first accomplishment of the day. I was planning on leaving soon, but then I looked out the window and it was an awesome day. So we decided to go to the beach. Well, one thing lead to another and I wanted to go swimming. It was fun. Actually it was the first time I had been in the ocean since – probably – 2000. I've wadded twice this last summer. Once in San Francisco and once on Cape Cod. But this was a full-blown out swim. Seriously.
After the swim I began my drive back home.
I had to stop ASAP to get a shake. Somehow I was tired. Shakes make me happier. Then I continued across I-10 to Baton Rouge – until I decided to take a detour through Biloxi to see the city. I visited Waveland last weekend. We did a project with the city of Waveland and Bay of Saint Louise. So it was interesting to see the cities. Now I wanted to see Biloxi because it was apparently becoming a big casino nucleus. I drove along the coast before getting on the interstate and going back to Baton Rouge.
No comments:
Post a Comment