I just got back from Motini's, and I wanted to make a political pitch. Imagine me, making a political pitch....
So, I was sitting at the MT Cup doing some homework. I guess they started an Open Mic Night at Motnini's Tuesdays nights, so says the girl serving me coffee. (I've seen the girl at many concerts here of lately, but that's besides the point). So I'm sitting there doing my homework, and I can already smell the smoke radiating from the upstairs. Anyway, my friend Arrah comes in and tells me they will be playing at 11ish, and I decide I can't miss it. That's when I got mad. In order to see her play, I had to walk back to my apartment, change into what I call my smoking outfit, and head back. Usually when I go out, I'm prepared to smell like smoke. But tonight I want to watch a half an hour performance, and to do this I had to change. Have people heard of ventilation? Seriously. The downtown bars are worse, but Miles's bars are runners up. I was just in California. No smoke anywhere. Same with Bloomington, Indiana. You can visit the bars without doing laundry the next day (or frebreez). It's an amazing concept.
I can't complain that much. I usually like the smoky bar atmosphere. And most my friend socially smoke. I'm just selfish because I refuse to start. Anyway, I totally enjoyed tonight. I went up to Motini's had a few drinks and watched the performers. This was an awesome ending to a Tuesday. I'm glad the MT Cup brought back open mic night. (Although I spent more then planned on alcohol especially in an hour's time). I saw Arrah, and now I have a little buzz. Hmm.
Well, it's past my bedtime. But I am skipping my 8am meeting tomorrow, because I am going to my second post-surgery follow up appointment. It's at 2:00, but I figured I could use it as an excuse to skip the meeting. I don't want to go. I'm not tired, either. I'm waiting for the martini and the coke and rum to wear off. Then I will be tired. Like I said before: I'm buzzed.
BTW, I reek of smoke. I was in Motnins for an hour. Oh yeah, the girl at MT Cup also said the new bar (Moe's) wasn't done yet. I had a sign of relief. I guess they only opened the bar for a preview weekend last weekend, and their still finishing it. It used to be an awesome band venue, but it was really crappy last weekend. And not cool crappy. It was no-character crappy.
No comments:
Post a Comment